Love’s last letter

 

Dear love of my life,

You know you’re too important to me. You always have. You always will be. You refuse to answer as it’s the polite fashion. The safe way. “It’s ok”

The sound of your silence is better than that of your “No”. Perhaps that would hit ten times as much.

However I miss the frequent awkwardness that I caused. Your occasional bloom, and especially those white shiny teeth. Those occasional free periods alone with you was bliss. Aiming to get you to not say “I’m bored” was like attempting to answer a chemistry question correctly without having studied. I hadn’t. The constant exercise I got when getting your troubles to go away. Those phone calls too.

I know even you cherish some of them, especially getting ice cream while angering my wallet.

But now as 10 years have gone by and you’re sitting with your little darling Emma, I lie under a grave waiting to meet you next time,

and tell you in a different way that

“I really want it to last longer.”

Your’s Lovingly

A loving soldier

 

 

Leave a Reply

